Hingham High School Chorus
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mentoring.

3 posters

Go down

Mentoring.  Empty Mentoring.

Post  MollySaran Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:26 pm

This year is personally an interesting year for me regarding mentoring. Since I am a sophomore in mixed chorus, I have no mentor nor mento. It's kind of a tough spot, because I want to help out the girls in concert chorale, but I don't have the experience yet. Although this year I just get to observe, I still think the mentoring program is a great way to unify both choruses. For me, my mentor left the chorus before we even got to meet, therefore I think the bond between mento and mentor is important. For example two days ago I was sitting next to another sophomore who is in mixed chorus and we were talking, and her old mentor approached us and said to her "Best mento ever, how are you?!" At first my reaction was normal but right then and there I was able to observe a bond between a mento and mentor which had never been broken. Even if for some like myself, the mentoring program doesn't work out at first, I think it is still extremely important to partake in whenever given the opportunity.

Molly Saran
Mixed Chorus

MollySaran

Back to top Go down

Mentoring.  Empty mentoring! yay!

Post  Caitlin Sullivan Wed Sep 21, 2011 8:53 pm

Replying to Molly's post about mentoring, I agree! It is such an important program and it absolutely helped the incoming freshman feel a part of chorus. Commenting on sophomores not getting a mentor- I think it mainly has to do with numbers. There is (usually) enough freshman for each junior and senior to have one. Although most sophomores would make wonderful mentors I think they are also adjusting to the new idea of mixed chorus/ not being a freshman.