Hingham High School Chorus
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mentoring? Or something else....

2 posters

Go down

Mentoring? Or something else.... Empty Mentoring? Or something else....

Post  Aoife Kingsbury Thu May 24, 2012 10:33 pm

I know people have been throwing around the idea of bringing back mentoring a lot lately (especially because of recent CHorus council speeches, etc), but I don't know how effective that will be. We all know how hard Deirdre Spatola tried to make the program work, but personally as a freshman, I didn't get any chances to connect with my mentor because A. I was a little scared of her and B. the phrase "mentor" was almost insulting. It made me feel very inferior to the upperclassmen, and I knew that they had more experience than me in High School and in Chorus, but if we were to start a "mentoring" type thing, maybe we could call it something different. I also think that instead of a senior-freshman pairing, it could be more like Mixed Chorus getting to know Concert Chorale and vice versa, so all those planned pasta parties and bonding events next year should center around that idea, rather than the superior senior "teaching" a naive freshman.

Aoife Kingsbury

Back to top Go down

Mentoring? Or something else.... Empty Re: Mentoring? Or something else....

Post  Nicole Tivnan Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:56 am