Hingham High School Chorus
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mentors and mentees

Go down

Mentors and mentees Empty Mentors and mentees

Post  Nicole Tivnan Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:09 am

Last year as a freshman, I had a great experience as a mentee. My mentor went way out of his way to make me feel welcome and went above and beyond all my expectations. But now I am a sophomore, and I'm no longer a mentee, or am I a mentor. Sophomore year is a weird one in chorus because some of you are in one chorus and the rest in another, you're too old to have a mentor but too inexperienced to have a mentee, and it seems like 10th grade us that awkward transitional year when you aren't quite sure where you belong. The mentoring system we have now works great and I can see that Brian, Louisa, and Sabrina are working as hard they can to make it even greater. In order to not disrupt the system that is going so well for us now, maybe we could add the fifth grade mentees to the program so that those who want to be a part of the mentoring program still can be. Remember from last year that a lot of student (both high school and fifth graders) became really enthusiastic about the idea of a mentoring bond between them. Since sophomores are more out-of-the-loop as far as the high school mentoring goes, maybe sophomores who want to be a fifth grade mentor can get first dibs and then any other chorus participants who want a fifth grade , after the sophmores have theirs, can get a chance to be assigned one. I think that this could be really good for the chorus because the sophomores will be able to relate to the mentor-mentee bond at chorus parties and at least be able to share things with everyone else about their mentee while everyone else is with theirs. I think it would also be good for the mentoring program because it would give high school mentors-to-be a chance to "practice" having a mentee and guiding someone. From what I h